Yesterday I explained how The Deficit Reduction Act of 2005
will impact single parent families by taking funds away from your local office of child support enforcement
. Today, I want to explain how you, as a single parent, might be called upon to pay a newly-mandated $25 annual fee in exchange for services provided by your local office of child support enforcement.
Section 7310 of the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 requires each state's office of child support enforcement to collect a $25 annual fee from families who:
- Have never received Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and
- Have received at least $500 in child support during the current fiscal year
Each state has several options for collecting this mandatory fee:
- States can pay the fee themselves rather than pass it on to individual clients. Both Florida and West Virginia have already agreed to do this.
- States can bill the non-custodial parent.
- States can bill the custodial parent.
- States can withhold the fee from child support being paid to the custodial parent.
Most states will begin collecting the $25 child support services fee as of October 1, 2007. In most cases, parents who will be directly affected have already received letters from their local office of child support enforcement, explaining how the money will be collected. For more information about how your state is responding to the new mandate, visit your state's office of child support enforcement Web site